Bethlehem (February 26, 2020)- Senator Lisa Boscola (D-Lehigh/Northampton) announced today that $1,473,249 in School Safety and Security grants were awarded to school districts and Intermediate Units in the 18th Senatorial District through the School Safety and Security Committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency.

“I am pleased that every school district and one intermediate unit located in my district have been awarded state funding to improve safety at their facilities,” Boscola stated.  “We have made assisting our school districts in ensuring a safe learning environment for our children and our educators a priority and these grant awards will aid in those efforts,” she added.

The following grants awards were approved:

  • Carbon Lehigh Intermediate Unit #21 – $307,321
  • Catasauqua Area School District – $35,000
  • East Penn School District – $45,000
  • Salisbury Township School District – $35,000
  • Whitehall-Coplay School District – $45,000
  • Bethlehem Area School District – $385,000
  • Easton Area School District – $45,000
  • Nazareth Area School District – $45,000
  • Northampton Area School District – $450,928
  • Saucon Valley School District – $40,000
  • Wilson Area School District – $40,000

Act 44, which created the School Safety and Security Committee, was signed into law by Governor Wolf in June 2018. The Committee develops the criteria schools use when performing school safety and security assessments, issues surveys that allow schools to measure their safety and security preparedness and administers grants to schools to improve safety and security.

Grants were available for projects to support one or more of twenty-two eligible categories listed under Section 1306-B of the Public School Code.  These uses can include the purchase of equipment, trainings, programs, counseling services, planning, screenings, and to secure behavioral health care professionals and support.

#  #  #